epic45 - Through Broken Summer W&W045


Pre-Order Details:

CD will include a photo booklet.

SOLD OUT! 2 x 12" Vinyl will be presented on Heavy-Weight Black Vinyl with photo collage insert.

SOLD OUT! Store Exclusive (100 only)
Limited Set: CD + Vinyl + Tape + Signed Print + Digital
(The tape will feature deconstructed versions of tracks and archive recordings and is exclusive to this store).


Staffordshire’s purveyors of pastoral pop, epic45, return after a seven-year hiatus with new album ‘Through Broken Summer’, available from Friday 28th September.

Much of what has always driven epic45 still remains; the British landscape, hazy childhood memories and a sense of loss. However, as tensions across Britain have increased, epic45 have been forced to re-examine their relationship with the country in which they live.

“The album is about, in part, returning to the place where we grew up from birth to our early twenties. From a personal perspective, it’s sad to see the place changing; new houses, the disappearance of old landmarks etc and the sadness of our childhood homes, strangely quiet now. But on a wider scale, it’s the palpable sense of cultural and political stagnation too. It’s a very insular place now, the community more fragmented than ever before”.

Atmospheric soundscapes combined with subtle electronics permeate throughout ‘Through Broken Summer’. ‘Outside’ and ‘From Quiet Houses’ are written with a sense of grandeur and astral beauty but darker moments are witnessed on tracks like ‘Other Rooms’, a glitchy, static affair.

There is a calming and addictively measured beauty to ‘Through Broken Summer. ‘Hillside ‘86’, which includes a guest appearance by Antony Harding of July Skies, shimmers against a backdrop of broken beats and heavenly sonics. If you’re looking for musical references, you might be able to hear the ghosts of Sarah Records, Disco Inferno, Slowdive and New Order in epic45’s ever evolving sound.

Track List
1. Remember The Future
2. The Lanes Don't Change
3. Outside
4. Sun Memory
5. Cornfields and Classrooms
6. Hillside '86
7. New Silence
8. From Quiet Houses
9. Cloud Phantoms
10. Other Rooms
11. Life Fades Whilst It's Still Yours
12. Harvest Echo
13. Through Broken Summer
14. We Don't Live Here Anymore

Release date: Friday 28th September 2018.